ISSUE #35 / NOVEMBER 8, 2018


Dying For

The first new recording from the Chicago indie trio since the Fire Of Love EP last fall. This short ditty has Emily Kempf asking “Is a dream worth dying for when you’re six feet underground?”, as the spare rolling beat of Eric McGrady’s drums backs the dreamy guitar of Jason Balla. It’s your typical Dehd sound; it works so well that you’ll be disappointed when its two and a half short minutes are up. We’ve covered them several times and are hoping an album announcement comes soon! In the meantime give the new track a listen.

They are opening for Grapetooth at Thalia Hall “In The Round” on November 11th. Tix are $16.


A SIDE: The Dogs Only Listen to Him

Building off their excellent sophomore album Parallel Person, released earlier this year, the Chicago act has dropped a classic A and B side single.  Just in time for the rainy November days, these two rolling tunes carry the mellow, moody voice of Stef Smith along with plenty of pulsing synths in “The Dogs Only Listen to Him”, and Paul Stoltz’s solid bass line drives “UFO”. If you’ve never heard them, this is a fine place to start.

Varsity is opening for Snail Mail at Metro on January 17th. Tix are $17.

Sunflower Bean.jpg

Sunflower Bean
Come For Me

The first single off the NYC rockers’ new EP, set to drop January 25th on Mom+Pop, is a bopper of a tune that shows off what this trio has to offer. Clean rock n roll with an indie twist. Get moving to this.

They are touring this winter with Interpol, and the show is coming to The Chicago Theatre on February 7th. Tix are $30 - $40.

Thundercat, BADBADNOTGOOD, Flying Lotus
King of the Hill

Celebrating their tenth anniversary, Brainfeeder (Flying Lotus’ record label) is releasing a 32-song collection from its artists. This an unheard collab track between the prince of bass, Thundercat, the wizards of nu jazz, BADBADNOTGOOD, and the man himself that is hypnotically gorgeous. You can pre-order Brainfeeder X ,which drops November 16th.

Thundercat was a part of the Mac Miller tour which has been cancelled after the rapper’s death. He does not have any other Chicago dates on his current slate.

Neither BADBADNOTGOOD or Flying Lotus are currently on tour.


Death in Midsummer

This organ filled ballad-esqe tune is the first single off upcoming Why Hasn't Everything Already Disappeared?, set to drop on January 18th on 4AD.  These indie heros have returned, after three years since Fading Frontier, for another round and seem primed to hit the ground running.

There are no Chicago dates on their current tour.



  • Sundara Karma / One Last Night On This Earth

  • Guided By Voices / Cohesive Scoops

  • WILD / Lace & Layers EP

  • Sia , Diplo , Labrinth , LSD / Mountains

  • Lil Durk / Neighborhood Hero

  • Ferdinando Arno, Joan As Police Woman / Dream On Me

  • Timeflies / Back When We Were Kids

  • THEY. , Jessie Reyez / Broken

  • Rachel Baiman / Thanksgiving EP

  • gnash / nobody’s home

  • Dave B. / pretty